Utah Defective Title Bond | AmeriPro Surety Bonds | 844-589-9732
Utah Department of Motor Vehicles
It’s very well possible that if you’re on this page, you’ve already visited or contacted your local Utah Department of Motor Vehicles, and they’ve told you that you require a Utah defective title bond or lost title bond.
In fact, ultimately it will be the Utah DMV who will tell you when a defective title bond or lost title bond is required.
Utah Defective Title Bond: Amount Required; Qualifying and the Premium
The amount of the bond required will be twice the value of the vehicle, if the value of the vehicle is $1000 or greater.
Up to and including a $50,000 surety bond amount, our agency offers you the defective title bond immediately after an application and with no credit check. The premium will be, subject to a minimum of $100, 1% of the bond amount required. Keep in mind also that the premium is a onetime fee only. A $50,000 surety bond will have a premium of $500.
Amounts greater than $50,000, if required, will still be at 1% of premium; however, there is also a credit check. In these cases, good credit will be required to be approved.
What We’ll Need
When you call us, we’ll ask you all of the following:
- The year of your vehicle;
- The make of your vehicle;
- The model of your vehicle;
- Your vehicle’s body type;
- Your vehicle’s VIN;
- The title number;
- The name that should read on the transfer title
Procedures to Show Evidence of Ownership
If you are attempting to register a vehicle in Utah, and have no access to the vehicle’s title (cars which are being financed will have the title held by the lien holder and so are not a concern), you will need to do the following:
- You will need to provide photographic evidence of the vehicle’s current condition. Such evidence will need to include the exterior as well as the interior, including the engine of the vehicle;
- You will need to complete form TC-569A.
Explain what happened, and specifically, why you don’t have title to the vehicle and under what circumstances the vehicle was acquired. Be detailed and be truthful;
- If the vehicle has an out of state registration, you’ll need a VIN inspection. A VIN inspection can be conducted at any Utah DMV branch office ;
- Provide any copies of any relevant documents (i.e. bill of sale) that you have with respect to the vehicle, no matter how seemingly insignificant or unimportant;
- You will need to complete form TC-656 ;
- If applicable to you, form TC-839r or TC-839s . These are applicable to dealers and lien holders and mechanics;
- Finally, if required by the Utah DMV, a Utah DMV defective title bond.
Utah Defective Title Bond: The Purpose
When required by the Utah DMV, the Utah defective title bond is a condition, which, when fulfilled, allows the DMV to issue you a replacement certificate of title.
By purchasing the bond, you are guaranteeing that you will shoulder the burden of any financial costs should the original title resurface at a later date.
Utah Defective Title Bond: The duration
The Utah defective title bond is paid one time per vehicle and the duration of the bond is for a period of 7 years.
Cost of the Utah Defective Title Bond
The cost of the defective title bond will mainly depend on the following:
- The amount of the bond required (i.e. a $5,000 defective title bond may be as little as $100);
- For amounts up to $25,000 this bond is issued immediately; there is no credit check.
AmeriPro Surety Bonds will always work to find you the best pricing for your surety bond.
You Have Choices
One thing we are always aware of at AmeriPro Surety Bonds is that our customers have many surety bond choices.
We are glad you that you choose to work with us.
It may come as a surprise, but the Utah defective title bond can be issued in a matter of minutes.
And that is our goal.
AmeriPro Surety Bonds also provides all types of license and permit, contractors, court, and fiduciary surety bonds throughout Utah.
Our agency also provides surety bonds throughout the U.S.